January’s Earthly Findings

Sweet Sexy Savage, Hidden Figures and The New Edition Story

 

    January was an amazing month for art from people of color. Hidden Figures, starring Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer and Janelle Monae, was inspirational and powerful. Just watching the film felt magical because it is not often we get to see black woman’s story told on television regardless of whether or not it was fiction or nonfiction. Taraji, Octavia and Janelle gave strong performances that made everyone in the theater clap with pride. Watching the story of these women was incredibly moving because they fought to get something they deserved and they won! It is a film I would recommend not only for every little black girl, but for everyone because it is story of bravery, persistence and hard work.

    The New Edition Story aired on BET not too long after I went to see Hidden Figures and I was blown away by every second of it. I had grown up with my mother playing New Edition so, I had known who the group was but, after seeing the movie became a full on bonafide fan. The music was amazing and the performances were even better! I loved seeing actors that I recognized like Elijah Kelley (Hairspray, The Wiz Live!), Keith Powers (Straight Outta Compton, Faking it, my dreams…), Bryshere Gray (Empire) and Caleb Mclaughlin (Stranger Things!!!). I knew they would slay their roles as they have in the past and they did not disappoint. My mom and I agreed if the real New Edition comes to Philadelphia for a concert we’re going! Hopefully they’d bring everyone that played them too!

    Kehlani’s Sweet, Sexy Savage album was the cherry on top. I have been a fan of Kehlani since her mixtape Cloud 19 and she has only gotten better since. Some of my favorite songs have been In My Feelings, Keep On, Advice, Personal…probably too many to name. I wish I could see her in concert but, the tickets for her Philly show are sold out. Still her album is definitely going to be my favorite album of 2017 and I can wait for more music.

    I’m excited to see what there is to come for all of these actors (and Kehlani). Even though 2017 has been stressful so far, January’s art has been phenomenal!

    

Leave a Reply

