10 of my favorite movies!

10 of my Favorite Movies Ever!

 

    Picking which movies should go on this list was HARD. I have so many favorite movies that it was a tough call to decide which ones I liked better than the others. Especially because I could watch all of my favorite movies over and over. For each of these movies, since I first saw them, I could not get it off of my mind. The story compelled me enough that I learned the lines from the film!  The films are not in order of which one I like the most but, the first one may be my favorite of them all.

 

  1. Clueless (1995)- The first time I had ever seen this movie, I was completely in love with the cinematography as well as the costume design and the actors themselves! Alicia Silverstone was a vision as Cher and embodied the character so well, I couldn’t help but, love her despite her arrogance and privilege. Cher is a character that people who focus on putting other people together before looking inside themselves could relate to. Not to mention Paul Rudd and Brittany Murphy, two of my favorite actors, were in the film. I also really loved the relationship between Dionne and Murray! The film is so beautiful and entertaining even I felt clueless to Cher’s revelation at the end of the film. Not only is rewatching the film pretty fun, it also feels like a time capsule into the 90s and I encourage anyone who hasn’t seen it to watch it!
  2. Do the Right Thing (1989)- This is a Spike Lee Joint and it is as entertaining as it is compelling. This culturally significant film tackles a difficult subject regarding race relations and it does it in a way that will definitely call for an important conversation for everyone. The cinematography was also beautiful because it helped tell the story that Lee was trying to convey. Also, it featured the comedian Martin Lawrence which I loved and the recently deceased Bill Nunn plays a very important role in the film. That’s all I’ll say about that, go watch the film!
  3. Coraline (2009)- I love animation and this film has some of the most beautiful animation I have ever seen. It was produced by Laika Studios which specializes in stop motion animation which makes the visuals of the film even more impressive. I also really love television and movies with dark themes and this is one of the darkest animated films I have ever seen. Also, the voice of Coraline is Dakota Fanning who is also one of my favorite actresses. Check it out!
  4. Beasts of the Southern Wild (2012)- This. Movie. Is. Amazing. Everything about it was compelling and beautiful. It starred and was told from the point of view of a six year old girl played by Quvenzhane Wallis- the girl that ruffled feathers by playing Annie a few years ago. Her performance as well as all of the other actors was astounding. Also, the soundtrack of this film was beautiful! Watch the movie! It will leave you in tears but, it will earn a permanent place in your heart.
  5. A Nightmare on Elms Street (1984)- Saying I really enjoy horror movies is an understatement. A Nightmare on Elms Street is as funny as it is horrifying. I think it sets the bar for what a good horror movie should do. If you aren’t too shaken up from a man killing teenagers in their sleep with knives for fingers, you’ll at least get a laugh from the killer itself. This film also utilizes color well as read smoke appears whenever the killer, Freddy Krueger, does. The movie is from the 80s and the murders are obviously fake but, if you really can’t sit through  a horror movie…watch it anyway.
  6. Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World (2010)- I’ve probably seen this movie 50 times. The first time I watched it, I took every opportunity to watch it again until I learned the lines from it. I find the movie to be dazzling and exciting with the plus that it is starring another one of my favorite actors, Michael Cera. I would also recommend listening to this soundtrack and you’ll have to go to youtube to listen to the version of Black Sheep performed by Brie Larson (future Captain Marvel).
  7. The Breakfast Club (1985)- You’ve definitely heard of this film, seen it, or seen a part of it spoofed on something else. This film starred the entire “Brat Pack” and is still incredibly relatable today. It is as funny as it is serious and features great characters that are profoundly multi-dimensional. It’s the coming of age film that paved the way for more great coming of age stories to be told and ups the ante.
  8. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)- This has been one of my favorite movies since I was young and I think it is because I have always loved Halloween. It is an animated film filled with Halloween themed music and an interesting cast of characters. The movie is beautiful and works with darker colors which fits into love for dark movies.
  9. Big Hero 6 (2014)- Big Hero 6 is also an animated film. It is a 3D computer animated film and an action comedy. Unlike the other films, my love for Big Hero 6 plays into my love of superheroes. It battles the seriousness of grief and depression and does so well. The graphics in the film are gorgeous and the film fuses Tokyo and San Francisco into one city. All the characters are great but, Hiro who is the main character is both funny and brilliant. Plus, there is a cameo from Stan Lee at the end of the film. If you love superheroes or animation you’ll love this film too. Watch the movie and look out for the tv show coming to Disney XD in 2018.
  10. Scream (1996)- I LOVE this movie. This is also a movie that I’ve seen a million times. The first 15 minutes alone are brilliant. The movie makes fun of typical horror movie traditions like saying “I’ll be right back”. It is as much a comedy as it is a horror movie and all of the characters are pretty funny. It’s definitely a movie I would recommend even if you don’t like horror.

 

     That’s ten of my favorite movies, maybe next year I’ll do ten more! If you haven’t seen some of these movies check them out now! (Sorry this post is so long!)

    

Leave a Reply

