March Earthly Findings

March’s Earthly Findings

 

GET OUT, Moonlight, Essence Black Women in Hollywood Awards & Black-ish

 

    The Essence Black Women in Hollywood Awards is exactly what the name says. I had never heard of it before this year but, apparently it has been going on for multiple years. This year, Yara Shahidi (Blackish), Janelle Monae (Musician, Moonlight and Hidden Figures), Issa Rae (Awkward Black Girl, Insecure) and Aja Naomi King (How to Get Away With Murder, Birth of a Nation) were honored.  This award show meant so much to me because it was so inspiring seeing so many black women in one room uplifting one another and honoring women that have inspired me personally so much just within the past year.

    I heard that Blackish was hilarious and brilliant but, I am kicking myself for not watching it sooner. For one of my classes I had to watch the pilot episode and I thought it was so amazing. It was so relatable to me personally as a black person who has dealt with microaggressions in my life before. I think it is a very interesting and hysterical look into a different kind of black family that I have never seen on television before. I encourage that if you haven’t seen it yet, to watch it soon!

    Moonlight came out late 2016 and I was in New York and broke at the time so, I never got a chance to see it. So when they got the rights to play it at my school at the end of last month I was more than excited to see it. Especially since I had heard about what an epic and stunning film it was that had never been done before. The film, to say the least, did not disappoint. The cinematography was gorgeous, the performances were devastatingly endearing and the story itself was so compelling and honest it had me on the edge of my seat. Everything about the film was truly beautiful and I loved hearing how important and significant it was for gay black men because a film like it had never been done before. Needless to say the film was undeniably deserving of its Oscar for Best Picture and Screenplay. Personally, I believe it deserved a few more wins for its score and cinematography but, we can’t win them all. I look forward to more films being developed like this and more diverse narratives being told.  

    Last but, not least, Get Out. Get Out was directed and written by Jordan Peele who is famous for Mad TV as well as Key and Peele. Both of which are comedy television shows on Comedy Central. Get Out, although it was a satire, left me more shaken than laughing. Most people apparently had no idea what Get Out would be about but, in high school I had heard that Jordan Peele was working on a movie about police and later race in America. Although I had known this going into the film and was prepared to look for motifs and messages throughout the film, it was such an scary reedition of what black people face in society, I was left in awe and needed a lot of time to process the film. The first time I watched it, I couldn’t sleep for three days. All I could think about was what everything meant, how amazing it was and how badly I wanted to see it again. I saw it again within the same week that I saw it the first time and was left in shock again but, I was able to process the film better. This film’s screenplay is amazing as well as the actors’ performances. If you haven’t seen it yet, see it right away!

    Both Moonlight and Get Out left me feverishly wanting to produce my own art and since then I have been producing new ideas and acting on more projects than before. I. AM. MESMERIZED.

Leave a Reply

