May Earthly Findings

May’s Earthly Findings

 

Daniel Caesar, Kendrick Lamar’s DAMN. & Burning Sands

 

    This month I lost a bunch of the things that I was going to put down as my Earthly Findings because I just got a new phone. However, I did remember a few of the things that I had listed. The first being Daniel Caesar’s music. He is a musician and he is AMAZING. I’ve only heard singles so far but, I hope he releases an album soon. His music is so soothing and he has a beautiful voice. I recommend listening to his song, “Japanese Denim” because that is my favorite song by him. He also has a song with another one of my favorite artists, Kali Uchis called “Get You”.

    I’m usually not a huge Kendrick Lamar fan. It’s not that I don’t like him but, I’m not as obsessed with him as everyone else seems to be. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised by his latest album DAMN. I really enjoyed almost every song on the album and have been playing them since I heard it. My favorite songs on the album right now are “Element” and “Love”. He has a song where he collaborated with another one of my favorite artists, Rihanna  that is called “Loyalty”. If you haven’t heard the album, I really recommend listening to it straight through. Even if you haven’t been much of a Kendrick fan in the past like me.

    Burning Sands is a Netflix original film with an all black cast. It’s a drama about the toxic nature of fraternity culture at universities. While I’m sure not all schools have toxic frat cultures (probably…maybe), this film highlighted some issues that are within those communities. My mother and I watched this entire film completely horrified. It hit a special cord because we hear so often about people dying or getting seriously injured in frats. Not to mention rape culture. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, you need a Netflix account to see it. It will definitely be worth it!

Leave a Reply

